The Sun in her palm…

I saw this picture on Akshaya’s blog and absolutely fell in love with it. This little verse is inspired from the picture…

 

Its the crimson evening calm
And she holds the sun in her palm…Up in the hills its evening too soon
The glowing red ball will change to a silky moon
But there’s still a while for the moonlight white
For another moment I behold the sight
Its the crimson evening calm
And she holds the sun in her palm

“How it goes from pink to yellow
Blazing down and then once more mellow
Those are the changes occurring in the sun
Its dawn to noon to evening run
And then it vanishes out of sight
Plunging us into a deep dark night
Of course it’ll come out again tomorrow
And then a moment of time I’ll borrow
The moment of crimson evening calm
When I hold the sun again in my palm”

She tells me its her daily ritual
I say its not real, its only virtual
“The sun doesn’t change, its we who do
Going around it and spinning too
As we move through our day
We look at the sun in a different way
We call it pink and red and yellow
It blazes forever, never does mellow
And as the earth continues its ride
The sun is visible on the other side
It hasn’t vanished. Its there like before
Just that we don’t see it anymore
It makes a pretty picture, your palm beneath the sun
While you may have your moment of fun
Its nothing more than a mere illusion
A sweet sight, an interesting vision”

“Oh my, you are such a bore
You don’t appreciate any more
The beauty of nature, the wonder of things
I have imagination, and I gave it wings
Then it flew off far and wide
And I learnt to put all logic aside
In a different light, the mundane I see
Do the same I tell to thee
When its time of the evening calm
Stretch it out and hold the sun in your palm”

24 responses to “The Sun in her palm…

  1. Ankita, I just loved this one…good and yet meaningful rhyming of sounds…

    Guess who?

  2. Am terrible at guessing… please gimme a clue! πŸ˜‰

  3. Brilliant poem. You should have come to Simhgadh. Btw, if you are willing, come to Pune on this Sat 24th for the read-meet πŸ™‚ No trek this time!

    — Akshaya

  4. No clues madam

  5. hello….really nice..i cud c the evening n feel the setting sun….
    liked it a lot,
    Divs

  6. @ Braveheart,

    For the sheer pleasure of seeing this with naked eyes, I perhaps could go to Simhgadh! The funnt thing is, even though I knew you guys trekked in the evening and reached late in the night, I always saw this pic as a sunset scene…. never occured to me that this would be at dawn…. it was only after you mentioned, that i noticed the pink and purple morning hues in the sky…. πŸ™‚

  7. @ Anonymous,

    Don’t call me madam!

    btw, was that a clue????? *scratching head*

  8. @ anonymous,

    hmmmmm, i have a feeling it was a clue…. i need another one!
    puhleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeez

  9. @ Divya,

    You could??? wow… thanks a lot… πŸ™‚

  10. yes…that was a clue indeed…
    well… i am sure now u don’t need another one πŸ™‚

  11. @ anonymous,

    Of course, now I don’t!
    πŸ™‚

    and I didn’t really thank you for liking it. did I?

  12. Your lovely poem made the picture perfect πŸ™‚

    I am terrible at poems. Wait a minute, I am yet to find out πŸ™‚

  13. @ Manish,

    Wow, thats some compliment…. Thank you soooooo much! πŸ™‚

    you read a lot of poetry na… never tried ur hand at it?

  14. hi anks!!!!!

    my god. i never knew my poems were being read by an expert!!!!

    thts a wonderful poem. more so because it is on my favourite topic… the changing colours of sun.

    btw u know wat, i wud have answered u just tht way (i mean the last stanza seems to be exactly my thoughts πŸ™‚ )

  15. @ Anki,

    No ya, I’m no expert…..

    Glad you liked it…. πŸ™‚

  16. Beautiful lines there anksy. The picture is no doubt beautiful and these lines have added a lot of depth to it…great work πŸ™‚

  17. Btw this blog template is sooo nice n warm unlike the weather here πŸ™‚

  18. @ Anz,

    Thanks anubha…. i love the pic…. the lines just emerged from it!

  19. @ Anz,

    Thanks for liking th template…. i’d been wanting to switch over to this… andd then you announced bloggeratti…. so i decided to change the template only after that….!

    as for the weather out there, all i can say is brrrrrrr….

  20. Mindboggling!!!

  21. @ tony,

    mindboggling????

  22. A good sunset image to give birth to a beautiful poem.

    Let the Sun guide you. After all beautiful sunsets, waiting for brighter mornings, hence the poems.

  23. So you are in new avatar !! Subhan Allah !!

  24. Ha ha one thing more, My two comments on the Sun two blogs – something in common πŸ™‚

    I am much hopeful that, this blog will last forever.

Leave a Reply

